Thirty-nine Michigan artists have been chosen by the judge to display 50 pieces of art in SAC’s 17th All-Media Juried Michigan Competition Aug. 11 through Oct. 4. The juror, nationally recognized artist Mark E. Mehaffey, will be choosing the award winners prior to the opening of the reception, 2 to 4 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 16. Awards totaling $1,200 will be presented at 3 p.m. to the artists.

Artists accepted in the show are: Janet Baugher, Linda J. Beeman, Jeanne Curtis, Marti Liddle-Lameti, Gary Mulnix, Lee Sowle, Lisa Wright and Xavier of Owosso; Bonnie Brown and Susan Newcom of Corunna; Barbara Walworth of New Lothrop; Todd Bielby, Anni Crouter and Gilbert McCann of Flint; John Mrozik of Flushing; and Denise Willing-Booher of Fenton.

Also, Jann Johnson Lardie of Perry; Tom Tomasek of Ovid; K W Bell of Haslett; Deb Drew Brown, Bob Crawford, Lee Kronenberg, Rudolph Saviko, Rhonda Sherwin and Dianne Wolter of Williamston; Juanita Baldwin, Ruth Egnater, James Fagan, Karen Kierstead Miller and Bobbie Margolis of Okemos; John Kroneman and Freshteh Parvizi of East Lansing; Barbara Hranilovich, Manny Lopez, Maureen O. Ryan and Joy Schroeder of Lansing; Laura DeLind of Mason; Marguerite Bronson of Saginaw; and Karl Racenis of Manchester.

The purpose of the bi-annual Competition is to recognize achievement among artists in all media and to bring the work together in an outstanding juried exhibition. Most of the artwork on display is available for purchase. The exhibition is sponsored by LAFCU.

The Shiawassee Arts Center, 206 Curwood Castle Drive in Owosso, is open 1 to 5 p.m. Tuesday through Sunday. The public is welcome and there is no admission charge. For more, persons may call the Arts Center, (989) 723-8354, or visit

SAC’s All-Media Juried Michigan Competition was last modified: August 5th, 2015 by Karen Elford