OPERATING MILLAGE – The Shiawassee County Board of Commissioners voted during their Wednesday, Nov. 18, Committee of the Whole meeting to establish a Tax Advisory Committee to formulate ballot language for an Operating Millage question to be placed on the March 8 election ballot. Board Chairman Hartmann Aue (pictured) explained the importance of the new committee.

“I think we should move forward with this,” Aue said about the committee. “We still have time to decide whether to include the proposal to the ballot, but I think putting this Tax Advisory Committee together will help in the long run.”

Aue later stated that he would like to see a new millage rate between 5.3 and 5.45 mills that would be levied for four to six years, thus giving county voters “a chance to vote more often on the recommendations of the new County Advisory Tax Limitation Committee (CATLC).” The present 5.555 mill authorization was approved by voters in 1996 for 20 years. He is shown at a July 15 Committee of the Whole meeting.

Thursday, the board named Bruce Cook of Owosso as the CATLC citizen-at-large, which will include County Treasurer Tom Dwyer, the chairman of the county’s Finance Committee, the SRESD Supt. or his representative, a person named by the Owosso City Council and a Township Supervisor selected by a majority of township supervisors in the county. (Independent File Photo/GRAHAM STURGEON)

Operating Millage – Shiawassee County Board of Commissioners was last modified: November 23rd, 2015 by Karen Elford