KNIGHTS OF COLUMBUS Owosso Council 1139 members received their Fourth Degree on Monday, Oct. 16 at the Owosso Knights of Columbus (K of C) hall in Owosso, also earning the title of “Sir Knight” and admission to Owosso K of C’s Assembly 0511. The K of C, founded in 1882, initially contained three degrees, until 1900 when the patriotic fourth degree was created. First, second, and third degree members comprise K of C councils, while fourth degree members form the assemblies. Nationwide, less than 18 percent of third degree members join the K of C’s fourth degree.

  Shown following the conclusion of the exemplification ceremony on Oct. 16 are (from left) Michigan District II Worthy Master David Buick; new Fourth Degree Sir Knights Dan Koch, John Bruckman, Jason Nequist, and Joe Holden; with Father Dieudonne Ntakarutimana of the St. Joseph and St. Paul Catholic churches of Owosso, and Assembly 0511 Faithful Navigator Gerald Alcorn. Not shown but also exemplified on Oct. 16 are Owosso Council 1139 members Courtney Benso, Fredrick Bruso, Gerald Gialanella, and Frank Botec.

  Among the K of C’s innumerable charitable endeavors, the organization regularly donates to local organizations such as the Shiawassee RESD, Michigan Right to Life, Walls of Warmth, Shiawassee County Special Olympics, youth soccer and baseball, Pregnancy Resource Center, Red Cross blood drives, Safe Center, the Shiawassee Conservation Association, Respite Volunteers of Shiawassee County, Arc Shiawassee, and the Curwood Festival.

(Independent Photo/Graham Sturgeon)

Knights of Columbus Council was last modified: October 23rd, 2017 by Karen Elford