By Melissa Shepard, associate editor

MEMBER OF THE YEAR – Dawn Reha was awarded Member of the Year. She is shown here accepting the award from Frank Corrin. (Independent Photo/MELISSA SHEPARD)

The Shiawassee County Agricultural Society annual meeting and dinner was Sunday, Dec. 6, at the ZCBJ Hall, between Owosso and Corunna.

The board members elected by the membership were Wally Brooks of Durand, Ed Garber of Shiawassee County, Don Luft of Owosso, Bryan Marks of Durand, Dawn Reha of Owosso, Jim Ritter of Byron, Frank Toma of Durand and Levi Voorhies of Owosso.

Fair Manager Ric Crawford talked about new projects planned for 2016, including new roofs on the Small Animal building, Public Safety Building, Office and the Gazebo by the office. Also, 12 new LED lights will be installed in the Grandstands; and electrical upgrades will be made in the Beef Barn, Camping Area and a new Camping Area (with bigger lots and more power). It was also mentioned that the Fair is looking into a new Memorial Garden, by expanding on the existing one provided by Crooked Tree Nursery. The plan is to expand it over the next few years.

Not present for the meeting but receiving awards were: for Retiring Superintendents, Courtney Hall, Floriculture 5 years and Janie McCartney, Poster Contest 15 years; Superintendent of the Year from the Exhibit Building: Dawn Hall, 16 years Floriculture and Janie McCartney, 15 years Poster Contest; and Superintendent of the Year Livestock Area: Clark Britten, 11 years Beef/Youth Beef.

Honors, Awards at Ag Society Annual was last modified: December 9th, 2015 by Karen Elford