THE CURWOOD FESTIVAL’S 2015-16 Board just after officers were elected Wednesday evening at Owosso City Hall includes (seated, from left): President Brian Reed, Vice President Dave Minarik, Treasurer Brandy Kenney and Secretary Tiffany Huff plus (standing, from left): immediate past President Debbie Adams-Mills, Ashley Washburn, Troy Habermehl, Jestin Rubelman, John Smith and city liaison Kevin Lenkart, the city’s Public Safety Director.

The largest community-based festival in the county the Curwood Festival has an annual budget in the $150,000 range. It began in the late 1970s as an arts and crafts event around Curwood Castle to celebrate the 100th birthday of author/conservationist James Oliver Curwood. Through extensive community support, and strong encouragement from then-City Manager Neil Jackson, more activities were added over the years. During a City Council meeting in about 1973 when the question of city support came up, Jackson said, “This city could never afford to pay a company to put on a Festival the way these volunteers do,” saying it had changed an otherwise sleepy weekend of early summer into a time attracting thousands of people to downtown Owosso. (Independent Photo/BILL CONSTINE)

Curwood Festival’s 2015-16 Board was last modified: September 16th, 2015 by Karen Elford