A total of thirty-six current students and recent graduates of Owosso High School have earned 2015 AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on Advanced Placement (AP) Exams.One of these thirty-six students earned the additional designation of National AP Scholar. AP Scholar Awards recognize high school students who have demonstrated college-level achievement through AP courses and exams.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program (AP) provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams.

AP Exams are administered each year in May and represent the culmination of college-level work in a given discipline in a high school setting. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams, which are scored on a level of 1-5: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honor, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar Award. About 20 percent of the 2 million students worldwide who took the AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to earn an AP Scholar Award.

Twenty-two Owosso High School students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are 2015 graduates: Kelly Blakemore, Tarryn Blankinship, Brittney Crawford, Benjamin Haefner, Austin Kohagen, Dillon McClintock, Allyssa Minarik, Ariel Powers, Jaiden Sowash and Gabriel Toman; current seniors Mary Basso, Maria Doerfner, Natalie Foster, Jhoshua Hickey, Sarah Kilbreath, Erin Konopacke, Valentina Larrivey, Jacob Lawton, Rashelle Ocenasek, Noah Slusher, Kaitlyn Springsdorf and Hannah Zwolensky.

Six students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are 2015 graduates: Abagail Edwards, Anina Lee, Hannah McAvoy, Alexa Stechschulte and Abigail Webster and senior Zachary Hufnagel.

Eight students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exam taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are 2015 graduates: Ryan Comrie, Thomas Horak, Joseph Jafri, Eric Locker, Lucas Messmer, David Owens and Jon Skjaerlund and senior Carmen Chamberlain.

In addition 2015 graduate Ryan Comrie earned the designation of National AP Scholar, awarded to students in the United States who earn an average score of at least four on all AP exams taken, and scores of four or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Owosso High School students took AP classes in the following subjects during the 2014-15 school year: AP Art, AP Biology, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, AP Chemistry, AP Comparative Government & Politics, AP English Language & Composition, AP English Literature & Composition, AP European History, AP Microeconomics, AP Psychology, AP United States Government & Politics and AP United States History.

Thirty-Six OHS Students Recognized as AP Scholars was last modified: October 19th, 2015 by Karen Elford