On Tuesday, May 3, 47 8th-grade students were inducted into the Shiawassee Scholars program at D’Mar Conference and Banquet Center. The Shiawassee Scholars program began in 1999 and has recognized almost 900 Scholars. The Class of 2020 is pictured here in no particular order and includes: Kami Aiello, Luke Birchmeier, Lindsey Bixler, Ava Brewer, Brandon Brozich, Tyler Brunette, Jaylee Carpenter, Annie Claus, Mason Collard, Emily Cooney, Elijah Delaney, Adrian Eggleston, Christopher Freels, Ean Gauthier, Lynnae Gilman, Jeremy Gooch, Chloe Gregg, Parker Gregg, Adriana Gruhn, Ashtyn Guru, Logan Hagerty, Brady Hawks, Kerra Hinrichs, Noah Jafri, Drew Jones, Michael Klim, Brianna Kline, Calvin Koonter, Abby Lake, Olivia Lewis, Anna Ludlow, Samuel Marshall, Julia Martin, Zoe McDowell, Elizabeth Norris, Jenna O’Berry, Ryan O’Neill, Dylan Olsen, Sydni Reeder, Kyah Ribble, Evan Roka, Emily Schaaf, Alex Scovill, William Scrimger, Alina Stinson, Hannah Walters, and Lyndsi Wendling.

The Shiawassee Scholars Program provides resources and support to academically talented high school students to reach their full potential and is a partnership between the Cook Family Foundation and the Shiawassee Regional Education Service District. Shiawassee Scholars are identified in 8th-grade by achieving the highest scores in the county on the SAT (Scholastic Aptitude Test).

By identifying and recognizing academically talented students early, the Shiawassee Scholars program seeks to encourage students to continue to pursue academically challenging activities during their high school years. Students participate in several programs; these new scholars will spend three days on a Big Ten University Campus and attend several informational sessions regarding planning for college and career, dual enrollment options, and accelerated academic programs.

Shiawassee Scholars Program Winners Announced was last modified: May 23rd, 2016 by Karen Elford