(Courtesy Photo)


   The Laingsburg Educational Advancement Foundation (LEAF) is excited to announce that several teachers and hundreds of students from Laingsburg’s elementary, middle and high schools will find teaching and learning a little more fun and interesting this year, thanks to more than $24,000 in new monies recently granted.

   This year’s gifts bring the organization’s 27-year history of giving to more than $360,000. LEAF makes the annual awards to teachers who apply for innovative funding for items not covered in the school system’s general budget. Grantees are as follows:

• Annual Sponsorship, Desserts with Young Artist: $500

• Andrea Green, SWIVL Robot Instructional Devices: $2,254

• Rhonda Rhine, PACK Enrichment: $232

• Steven Easterling, LINK UP and Ukuleles: $761

• Kristy Hagerty, Archery in School: $1,051

• Dean Meyer, Girls in STEAM 3.0: $500

• Dean Meyer, BIG History Lesson: $1,050

• Amy Elliott, Impression 5 Trip: $920

• Rachel Hooper, Historical Village Learning Journey: $1,530

• Chris Samson, Annie’s Big Nature Lesson: $1,519

• Rebecca Malaski, Science Escape Room Activities: $311

• Rebecca Malaski, Science Olympiad Funding: $946

• Sara Kurka, Inspirational Murals: $550

• Kelsey Jones, Assistive Technology in Resource Room: $813

• Terra Tomlinson, Triple Beam Balances: $832

• Hanna Nest, Going Pro in the Burg Broadcast: $290

• Beth Eggleston, Career & Tech Skills: $1,200

• Andy Barrus, Graphing Calculators: $2,000

• Paul Garrett, FIRST Robotics Teams FRC #7166: $5,000

• Paul Garrett, Visual Communications: $410

• Tracey Salinas, A Picture is Worth 1,000 Words: $1,796

   LEAF uses three main criteria when evaluating the grant applications: Is the program innovative? Does it create a new program that’s of value to the district and that will impact a maximum number of students? Is it something already covered by the school budget?

   If chosen, the recipients are asked to measure the impact of the initiative and provide a final report with their evaluation to the LEAF board at the end of the school year. Grant winners are also asked to promote their grant program within the community so parents, grandparents, business owners, community leaders and others can see the unique things going on in Laingsburg.

   “Our teachers and students are truly talented and deserve every chance to showcase that talent,” explained LEAF Grants Committee chairperson Dane Nickols. “Thanks to the generosity of individual donors, memorial gifts and events like the annual reverse raffle, LEAF can provide a funding source that allows for materials and programs that truly enhance the quality of education in our local schools.”

   Founded in 1992, LEAF is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization. Donations are accepted throughout the year by mail at 205 S. Woodhull St., or through its website, www.leaf4kids.com.

   Shown during the Laingsburg Community Schools Board of Education meeting on Wednesday, Jan. 16 is Laingsburg Board of Education member and LEAF board member Patrick Dolan, who can be seen accepting a check for $24,463.84 from LEAF board member Carrie Rathbun Hawks.

New Monies Granted in Laingsburg was last modified: January 29th, 2019 by Karen Elford