RECIPIENTS of the Memorial Healthcare Foundation Scholarships shown with Memorial Foundation Representatives are (from left) Executive Director Matt Hufnagel, Makenzie Bitterman, Erin Konopacke, and Foundation Board Officer Michael Ash. Recipient John Lawrence was unavailable for the photo. (Courtesy Photo)

Memorial Healthcare Foundation recently announced recipients of the 2016 Memorial Healthcare Foundation Senior Scholarships. This year Memorial Healthcare Foundation awarded three $1,000 scholarships to area graduating seniors who are pursuing a career in health care professions and who live in Memorial’s service area. Senior scholarship recipients for 2016 are Makenzie Bitterman, Erin Konopacke, and John Lawrence.

Makenzie Bitterman is an honor student at Chesaning Union High School and will be attending Saginaw Valley State University. Her planned area of interest is nursing. In school, Makenzie has participated in softball, swimming, and golf. She has also been a member of the Key Club and FFA while maintaining honor roll grades all four years.

Erin Konopacke, is an honor student attending Owosso High School. She has served as captain of the volleyball team for the past two years, participated in the Trojan band, and was a regional finalist in 100m and 300m hurdles in Track and Field. In the fall, she will enter Southern Illinois University majoring in radiation therapy.

John Lawrence, is a top five student at Byron Area High School. In the fall he will be attending Alma College, pursuing a major in biology with the intention of attending medical school. Lawrence was a member of student council, the National Honor Society, Hearts of Fire and Theater Clubs, while being captain of the basketball and football teams. He also played baseball.

Memorial Healthcare Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation governed by an independent board of directors. The Foundation provides continuing financial support for the development and improvement of Memorial Healthcare’s programs, services, technology and facilities.

For additional information, please visit or contact the Foundation office at (989) 729-4675.

Memorial Foundation Scholarship Winners Announced was last modified: May 25th, 2016 by Karen Elford