THESE 4-H members recently attended the annual awards brunch on Saturday, Feb. 6 and many received awards for their projects and services in 4-H. (Courtesy Photo)


The Shiawassee County 4-H Council held its annual awards brunch

on Saturday, Feb. 6, at the Memorial Healthcare Auditorium with 56 project medals awarded. To qualify for a project medal, the 4-H member must have at least three years in a project area. Speakers included: Roxann Turner (4-H Educator), Dane Sebesta (4-H Youth recently chosen to be on the Michigan State Youth Leadership Council for 4-H), Sarah Stickel (4-H Youth Leader), Sydni Reeder (4-H Youth Ambassadors program).

The highest 4-H award in a county is the Key Club Award. To receive the Key Club Award, an individual must work exceptionally in their project areas, demonstrate leadership, and have progressed to state level. Finalists are chosen, go through an interview process and two winners are selected. 2016 Key Club Award winners were Gabe Bennett (Hazelton Dairy 4-H Club) and Samantha Whitehead (Busy Farmers 4-H Club).

The I Dare You Award is given to high school students who have shown leadership abilities inside and outside of 4-H (FFA, Student Council, etc). The 2016 I Dare You winners are Andrea Drentlaw and Sarah Stickel.

Citizen Washington Focus (CWF) is a learning lab about our national government held in Washington D.C. The Shiawassee County 4-H Council pays a large portion of the cost for award recipients. Nathan Scovill (Busy Farmers) and Samantha Whitehead (Busy Farmers) were chosen for this award.

Project Pins were awarded as follows: Beef: Amber Szakal, Trevor Janicek; Crafts: Grace Sayles; Dairy: Courtney Butcher, Sydni Reeder, Hannah Reeder, Nathan Jacobs, Jordan Bashant, Jeannie Bashant, Tommy Bashant, Allison Luchenbill, Taylor Fuhrman, Gabe Bennett, Luke Vudures; Dog: Michael Klim, Alonna Malatinsky, Tess Passinault, Malary Jean Thorsby, Paige Wells; Entomology: Andrew Bushard; Food and Nutrition: Evelyn Fuhrman, Andrew Weichel; Goats: Rebecca Ackels, Richard Ackels Jr., Paul Hendzel, Audrey Guysky, Natalie Nolph, Joely Angst; Horse: Morgan Gentner, Zoe Hohman, Avery Peplinski, Emily Riley, Alyssa Middleton, Victor Shubitowski, Maya Edwards, Cole Mallory, Olivia Ann Hohman, Jacy Essex; Personal Development: Tanner Orweller; Photography: Brooke Stechschulte; Poulty: Amelia Stone, Kyla Jackson, Sarah Ash, Marc Hendzel; Rabbit: Abbey Angst, TJ Hilts, Sheep: Josh Edwards, Eli Edwards, Alexander Scovill, Ethan Orweller; Shooting Sports: Jack Weichel, Chad Andres; Swine: Nathan Scovill, Samantha Whitehead, Haley Grombir, Myah Kelly.

To learn more about how to get involved in 4-H in Shiawassee County, contact the Shiawassee County Extension office at (989) 743-2251. 4-H is the nation’s largest youth development organization and aims to help young people become self-directing, productive and contributing members of society. This is accomplished through programming designed to build life skills, support school learning during out-of-school experiential educational programming, and teach employment skills needed by today’s future work force. The 100 topics of 4-H projects helps to achieve these broader youth development goals.

4-H Youth Awards was last modified: February 29th, 2016 by Karen Elford